Independent, commission never changes our rankingsUSD · United States
FIRE & ICE

The best cold plunge tubs, ranked on cooling and cost

By Craig Fearn, Fellow of the Royal Society for Public Health·Updated July 2026·Prices checked August 2026·Independent, commission never changes our ranking

Some links are affiliate links, they never change our ranking. Disclosure.

A cold plunge tub with integrated chiller showing the recovery ritual setup

A chiller cold plunge is for the person who wants the energy, the mood lift, and the faster recovery on tap every morning, without hauling ice, a lift that is genuine, not marketing (Fox et al., Scientific Reports, 2025). A cold plunge with a chiller is a real appliance: it holds near-freezing water on demand, and it draws power to do it. If you are hunting for the best cold plunge tub you can actually use every single day, the chiller matters more than the shell, how cold it gets, how fast, how loud, and what it costs to run. Here are the seven we'd buy, and the one honest question to answer before you spend $5,000.

The short answer. The best cold plunge tub for most people, in stock and shipping in 1-2 weeks: the Sweat Kingdom OG Plunge. Want the most cooling power in an integrated unit? The Blast. Best-known brand and the biggest owner community: The Plunge. Want a tub and chiller matched and shipped together, ready now, for well under the big-name price: the 1HP Chiller + Pro Tub, or the biggest tub under $1,000, the Chiller + Tub XXL. Already own a tank or tub and just need a chiller? See our standalone chillers, the cheapest real route to cold water. Want tub, chiller and filtration in one mid-price box? Nordik Standard. Not sure you'll stick with it? Don't buy a chiller yet, test the habit with an ice tub first.

Cold plunge tub types, in 90 seconds

Almost every product called a "cold plunge" or "cold plunge machine" falls into one of three types. Knowing which one you're looking at explains most of the price gap.

One thing this page is not about: a "dry" cold plunge or cryotherapy chamber cools you with refrigerated air, not water. Different technology, different price point, and a different set of tradeoffs, if that's what you searched for, this isn't your page.

Before you buy: the chiller is the cost

A chiller runs a compressor to pull heat out of the water and then to hold it there around the clock. Two consequences worth knowing:

What actually separates a good tub from a bad one

Marketing photos all look the same. These four things are what you're really paying for.

Tub with a built-in chiller vs a separate chiller

This is the real fork in the road, not brand versus brand. An integrated unit like the OG Plunge, the Blast or The Plunge bundles the tub, the chiller and the filtration into one shell with one supplier to chase, plug it in and you're done. A separate chiller, starting around $499 from Plunge Chill, is cheaper upfront and lets you keep a stock tank or existing tub, but you're sizing the chiller's BTU to your own gallons, running your own plumbing, and living with two warranties instead of one if something fails. Neither is wrong, the integrated route buys convenience, the separate-chiller route buys a lower price and more control. See every standalone option, HP for HP, in our cold plunge chillers guide.

The tubs we'd buy

ModelPriceCools toChillerCapacityWarrantyBuy link
Sweat Kingdom OG Plunge Tub$4,99039°F, or 36°F on the 1/2HP upgradeBuilt-in + filtrationInsulated all-in-onesee listingCheck price →
Sweat Kingdom Blast$8,99036°F1 HPLarge upright, stainless steelsee listingCheck price →
The Plunge$5,49037°F0.75 HP105 gal12 monthsRead →
Plunge Chill 1HP Chiller + Pro Tub$1,49936°F1 HP, built inInsulated Pro tubsee listingCheck price →
Plunge Chill Chiller + Tub XXL$899see listingBuilt inXXL insulated tubsee listingCheck price →
Nordik Standard Bundle$3,99937.4°F1 HP, IPX4fits to 6'7" usersee listingRead →
Ice Barrel 500 + Chiller~$5,75037°F7,500 BTU/hr~85 gal barrelsee listingRead →

Specs drawn from each manufacturer, current July 2026, prices and bundles move, so confirm at the retailer.

What you are actually covered for

A chiller is a refrigeration unit running in a wet place, so it is the part most likely to need the warranty you never read. These are read off each brand's own policy pages rather than its marketing.

What you get after you payPlunge ChillSweat KingdomPlungeIce Barrel
WarrantyTheir own pages disagree: 2 years on the warranty page, 1 year in the FAQBoth re-read on 2026-08-19 and the contradiction is real, so we quote both rather than pick the flattering one. Replacements only, never refunds. The warranty page also sets a performance standard for the chiller specifically: 50 to 52 gallons down to 49-52F within 1 to 3 hours, cooling at 2 to 4F per hour. Get the term you were sold in writing before you buy.3 years from delivery, saunas onlyCovers structural defects in the frame, walls or flooring and factory-installed component failures. Original residential purchaser only, non-transferable, and labor, installation and electrical costs are the customer's. Cold plunges are not mentioned in the document at all.1 year, and it does cover the chillerShell, plumbing, water purification and equipment including the pump, chiller components, heater, sensors and control system, all one year from delivery. Residential use only. Units outside the US are excluded, as is the cost of getting parts to Hawaii, Alaska and US territories.3 years on the barrel, 1 year on the chiller, and the chiller remedy is credit onlyTheir own wording is a limited lifetime warranty capped at three years. Delamination is excluded after the first year. The chiller is separate: twelve months, and their stated sole obligation is to credit what you paid rather than repair or replace it.
Returns / trial30-day returns, not a home trialThirty days from receipt to request a return, and the buyer pays return shipping. No restocking, return or processing fee, which is the opposite of the sauna end of the market. Cancellation only inside 1 day of purchase.30-day home trial, but not after assembly or useThe window starts at delivery, and return freight is the buyer's at a stated $750 to $1,500. A sauna that has been assembled or permanently installed, or that shows visible evidence of use, cannot be returned, so in practice the trial covers changing your mind about a crated unit rather than trying the sauna out.30 days, but a 25% restocking feeA quarter of the purchase price is the most expensive return term on this page by a wide margin. Cancelling before it ships costs 5% instead.30 days, with a 30% restocking feeThe steepest return term of any brand here. The fee covers return shipping, cleaning and repackaging, and the original shipping cost is not refunded on top of that.
Financingnot statednot statedBread Pay, 0% APR for 36 monthsThe only brand here that publishes actual terms rather than showing a checkout logo.Affirm and Afterpay, interest-free installmentsProviders named, but no APR, term length or minimum order is published.
DeliveryFree, mainland US only, 2 to 5 daysStandard courier rather than freight, so no curbside or white-glove distinction is made. Alaska and Hawaii are not addressed either way. Ships from warehouses in California, Georgia and New Jersey.$450 flat on modular saunas, curbside, contiguous US onlyLarge and custom saunas are quoted individually. The driver unloads at the end of the driveway or nearest curb; getting it into position is the buyer's problem. No Alaska, Hawaii, US territories, PO boxes, APO/FPO or international.Free curbside in area, $250 for in-homeIn area means roughly 35 miles of a major airport hub; outside that is a flat fee they do not publish. The exact zones are not listed anywhere we could find.Freight, priced at checkout, US and CanadaFedEx, UPS or LTL freight dropped at the property. No curbside or white-glove term is used either way, and no dollar figure is published anywhere: the cost only appears at checkout.
Lead timeDispatch usually within 1 day, delivery 2 to 5 daysUp to 3 business days to dispatch in rare cases. The threshold for chasing a late order also conflicts between pages: 7 business days on the shipping policy, 10 in the FAQ.not stated in policy; 5 to 8 weeks per product in the feedThe shipping policy gives no number and says delivery timelines are estimates only. Individual product descriptions in the Awin feed do state a lead time, which is what availabilityNote() quotes on each card.8 business days on in-stock itemsAdd 2 to 3 weeks for Hawaii, Alaska and US territories.7 to 13 days from orderStated for US barrel and chiller orders. Hawaii, Alaska and Canada may take longer.

Scroll the table sideways to compare all 4 brands.

Read off each brand's own warranty, returns and shipping pages, re-checked August 19, 2026. "Not stated" means the brand does not publish it, which is worth knowing in itself. Policies change, so confirm anything you are relying on before you pay: Plunge Chill, Sweat Kingdom, Plunge, Ice Barrel.

Two things to notice. Plunge Chill charges no restocking or return fee, though you still pay the return shipping, where Sweat Kingdom passes on $750 to $1,500 of return freight, which is the difference between a courier parcel and a freight pallet rather than generosity. And Sweat Kingdom's warranty document covers saunas: cold plunges are not mentioned in it at all, so ask what covers the plunge before you buy one from them.

Plunge Chill's warranty says two different things

Their warranty page says they guarantee their products "for 2 years from the delivery date". Their FAQ says "we offer a 1-year warranty on all our products". Both were re-read on August 19, 2026 and both were still there, and nothing on the site says which one governs. We are not going to pick for you: quoting the longer one would flatter them and quoting the shorter one would be just as much a guess.

It matters because a chiller is the part that fails, and the difference is a year of cover on the expensive component. Get the term you were sold in writing before you pay, and keep it. Worth knowing either way: the policy is replacement-only, it says refunds are not available under warranty.

Sweat Kingdom OG Plunge Tub

Best in-stock, ships in 1-2 weeks
Sweat Kingdom OG Plunge Tub
$4,990

In stock. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Cools to
39°F, or 36°F on the 1/2HP upgrade
Chiller
Built-in + filtration
Capacity
Insulated all-in-one
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you want an American-made all-in-one that holds clean water with no ice, no plumbing and no electrician, though the entry price is the 1/4HP chiller that Sweat Kingdom rates to 39°F and reaching 36°F means paying up for the 1/2HP, it is the one tub on this page that is actually in stock rather than made to order, and the one we point a first-time chiller buyer to.

Watch out, it is built by a sauna specialist, so the cold plunge owner community is smaller than The Plunge's, and like every Sweat Kingdom unit the price shown excludes delivery.

Sweat Kingdom Blast

Most powerful, integrated
Sweat Kingdom Blast
$8,990

Confirm stock and lead time with the retailer. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Cools to
36°F
Chiller
1 HP
Capacity
Large upright, stainless steel
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you want the most cooling power here, a 1 HP chiller in a roomy stainless upright basin, indoor or outdoor with no plumbing and no chiller to size yourself.

Watch out, it is the priciest tub on this page and made to order rather than in stock, so budget the lead time into your plan.

The Plunge

Best-known brand
$5,490

Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Cools to
37°F
Chiller
0.75 HP
Capacity
105 gal
Warranty
12 months

Buy it if, you want the proven, market-leading all-in-one and the biggest owner community behind it.

Watch out, acrylic build is good, not luxury, and the chiller is audible on a quiet patio.

Listed as a benchmark, Plunge is not sold through us

Plunge Chill 1HP Chiller + Pro Tub

Best value all-in-one, in stock
Plunge Chill 1HP Chiller + Pro Tub
$1,499

In stock. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Code ANNIVERSARY10 takes $149.90 off, $1,499 down to $1,349.10 at the retailer.

Runs to January 1, 2027. Codes are the retailer's to change or withdraw, so check it applies before you pay.

Cools to
36°F
Chiller
1 HP, built in
Capacity
Insulated Pro tub
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you want the chiller and a real insulated tub matched and shipped together in one order, in stock now, no plumbing or BTU sizing to work out yourself.

Watch out, it is a newer name in this lineup than Sweat Kingdom or The Plunge, so the owner track record is shorter, confirm tub capacity on the product page before you buy.

Plunge Chill Chiller + Tub XXL

Biggest tub under $1,000
Plunge Chill Chiller + Tub XXL
$899

In stock. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Code ANNIVERSARY10 takes $89.90 off, $899 down to $809.10 at the retailer.

Runs to January 1, 2027. Codes are the retailer's to change or withdraw, so check it applies before you pay.

Cools to
see listing
Chiller
Built in
Capacity
XXL insulated tub
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you want the largest Plunge Chill tub and chiller bundle before crossing into four figures, in stock and shipping now, real room to move without the jump to a Sweat Kingdom or Plunge price tag.

Watch out, Plunge Chill does not publish every spec we would like, confirm chiller HP and exact gallons on the product page.

Nordik Standard Bundle

Best complete bundle
$3,999

Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Cools to
37.4°F
Chiller
1 HP, IPX4
Capacity
fits to 6'7" user
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you want tub, chiller and filtration in one box at a mid price, and can live with an inflatable-style tub.

Watch out, inflatable tubs are less durable long-term than a rigid shell.

Listed as a benchmark, Nordik Recovery is not sold through us

Ice Barrel 500 + Chiller

~$5,750

Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Cools to
37°F
Chiller
7,500 BTU/hr
Capacity
~85 gal barrel
Warranty
see listing

Buy it if, you love the upright barrel form factor and want the brand that made it famous.

Watch out, tub and chiller are bought separately, so read the bundle price carefully.

Listed as a benchmark, Ice Barrel is not sold through us

Running a gym, spa or studio?

The Blast Commercial is the heavier-duty version of the Blast above, a Japanese-engineered 1 HP chiller, a 40% larger basin, stainless steel framing and cabinetry, and an automated chlorine feeder built for a high-traffic facility rather than a single household.

The Blast Commercial

The Blast Commercial

from $9,490 · $9,490–$12,215 across 12 options, choose on the product page

Confirm stock and lead time with the retailer. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.

Thinking about the premium tier?

The Renu Therapy Cold Stoic 3.0 (~$11,399) is the hand-laid-fiberglass, heirloom end of the market, genuinely better built than the mass acrylic tubs, and priced like it. It's the right buy if craftsmanship and a temperature range that also runs warm matter to you. For almost everyone, the performance of a $3,000-5,500 unit is identical where it counts: how cold the water gets, and what it costs to hold it there.

Want the plunge and a real sauna in one footprint instead of two purchases? The Sweat Kingdom SK Contrast builds a traditional sauna and a chilled, filtered plunge into a single pre-built shell.

The total cost of cold, not just the sticker price

The purchase price is the smallest number in the equation. Take the OG Plunge, from $4,990: run it for five years at roughly $15 a month in electricity and you've spent about $5,890 all-in, no ice, no water changes beyond routine filter care. Plunge most days for five years and that's somewhere near 1,800 sessions, about $3 a plunge, once, forever. Compare that with a $40 drop-in at a cold plunge studio or cryo clinic, one visit there costs nearly two weeks of owning your own. Budget another $10-20 a month if your unit runs on filter cartridges or the occasional chemical shock, cheap relative to the chiller bill but worth knowing about upfront. Calculate the real number for your own usage and electricity rate, the studio math only works if you'd actually go three times a week.

The honest DIY route

A livestock stock tank ($100-300) plumbed to a standalone chiller gets you real chilled water for a fraction of an all-in-one's price, and it's how a lot of the early cold plunge community built their first setup. It is a real weekend plumbing job, not a plug-and-play appliance: you're sourcing a food-safe tank, matching the chiller's BTU to your gallons, adding your own filter, and accepting that no single warranty covers the whole system if something leaks. If that sounds like a fun Saturday, it's the cheapest genuine chiller route there is, start with the sizing guidance in our chiller comparison. If it sounds like a chore, buy an integrated tub and never think about the plumbing again.

Why I'd choose "always ready" over "cheapest"

A career spent helping organisations manage health, stress and recovery has taught me one consistent pattern: the tool people actually use is the one with the least friction, not the one with the lowest price tag. A chiller tub is cold every single morning without a decision, an ice tub asks you to plan ahead and haul or make ice, and that small extra step is enough to quietly kill a habit inside a month for most people I've seen try. If you've already proven you'll do the ice run, a chiller is a convenience upgrade. If you haven't, it's the difference between a $5,000 appliance you use daily and one gathering dust by spring.

Who genuinely shouldn't buy a chiller tub yet: anyone who hasn't plunged consistently for at least a month, anyone renting or likely to move within the year, and anyone who'd feel a $7-20 monthly bill land on top of the purchase. Start with a portable ice tub, prove the habit, then come back here once it's routine, not a resolution.

Common questions

Do I need a chiller, or can I just use ice?

Ice is cheaper upfront but you top it up every session. A chiller holds temperature on demand. Test the habit with an ice-only tub first, then upgrade if it sticks.

How much does it cost to run?

About $7-20 a month for most people. Calculate yours with your electricity rate.

Are chillers loud?

Fridge-to-window-AC levels while cooling. Check the decibel rating if it lives near a bedroom or a quiet patio.

Are cold plunges good for you?

The best-supported effects are a real short-term lift in mood and energy and less next-day soreness after hard training, not a cure for anxiety or a guaranteed edge over every other recovery method. We break down every study behind that, with citations, in our cold plunge benefits guide.

Is a "cold plunge machine" the same as a cold plunge tub?

Usually yes, it is mostly how people search for a self-chilling, all-in-one tub, which is what most of the picks above are. It is not the same as a "dry" cold plunge or cryotherapy chamber, which cools with refrigerated air instead of water.

Sources & method

Specs and prices are taken directly from each brand's own product pages (Plunge, Ice Barrel, Plunge Chill, Nordik, Renu Therapy, Sweat Kingdom), current July 2026, use the retailer links in each review above for live pricing. Reputation and reliability notes are our synthesis of widely-reported owner feedback. Running cost, filter care and per plunge figures are our estimates, use the calculator for your own rate. The mood and energy research cited above is Fox et al., Scientific Reports, 2025 (PMID 41388053); see our cold plunge benefits guide for the full, cited picture, and our full Ice Barrel review for a deep dive on the benchmark barrel. Prices change often, always confirm at the retailer.