The best infrared saunas, and the EMF question no one answers straight
Some links are affiliate links, they never change our ranking. Disclosure.
An infrared sauna is the easy daily wellness habit: a gentle sweat for recovery, stress and better sleep that you will actually do most evenings. Infrared saunas are gentler, cheaper to run and usually plug into a normal outlet, which is why they've overtaken traditional saunas in home searches. The catch is the marketing: almost every brand claims "low EMF," but only some will tell you who measured it. Here are the four we'd buy, with that question answered honestly.
The short answer. Best overall: Clearlight Sanctuary 1, $4,899. Best if EMF is your worry: Sun Home Equinox (lab-verified). Want two seats rather than one for the same money: the Peak Crown at $4,950. No room or budget? The $699 HigherDOSE blanket. The Crown is the only one of the four we earn a commission on, and it is neither the cheapest nor the best here, which is the whole reason we are comfortable listing it. The rest of the heat and cold gear we earn on is on the packages page.
Buying for two, want it outdoors, or just chasing the lowest running cost? See the scenario picks below, then run your own electricity rate in the cost-to-run calculator, sticker price is the smaller number.
Infrared isn't traditional, know the trade
An infrared sauna warms your body directly at 120–150°F; a traditional sauna heats the air past 180°F and lets you throw water for steam. Infrared is more comfortable, warms up faster, and runs on far less power, often a third of a traditional heater, on a standard 120V outlet with no electrician. What you give up is the intense, steamy heat purists are after. Neither is better; they're different rituals.
What infrared actually does
A traditional sauna heats the room, then the room heats you. Infrared skips that step: the panels emit infrared radiant energy that penetrates a short way into skin and soft tissue and warms you directly, which is why the air can stay at a gentle 120–150°F and you still sweat. Your body responds the way it does to any mild heat stress, your skin blood vessels widen, your heart rate rises a little, and you sweat, just at a lower ambient temperature and over a longer, more comfortable sit. That's the honest mechanism, no more and no less. It doesn't "flush toxins" or "detox" in any measurable sense (sweat is mostly water and salt, your liver and kidneys do that work) and we won't claim it does. What it reliably delivers is a gentle, repeatable heat-stress habit you'll actually keep up.
Far vs full spectrum, plainly
Nearly every infrared heater on the market, including the HigherDOSE blanket here, uses far infrared, a single wavelength band that's simple, well-proven at warming you, and the cheapest to build. Full spectrum units, like the Clearlight, Sun Home and Peak cabins above, add near- and mid-infrared alongside far. Brands market extra skin-level or "cellular" benefits from those added bands; the evidence for those specific extra claims is thin, so treat full spectrum as a reasonable nice-to-have rather than the deciding factor. Either band warms you the same basic way described above.
On EMF, get a name
Infrared heaters produce electromagnetic fields, and low exposure is genuinely better. But "low EMF" on a product page is only worth what's behind it. In this category, Sun Home and Clearlight publish figures measured by a named independent lab (Sun Home cites Vitatech); others state a number with no third-party test named. That doesn't make the others dangerous, it means you're trusting the brand's word. If EMF is why you're buying infrared, buy from a brand that names its lab.
Which one fits your situation
| You want | Pick |
|---|---|
| Room for two, EMF verified by a named lab | Sun Home Equinox 2 |
| An outdoor install, weatherproof shell | Sun Home's outdoor sibling, the Luminar, none of our four indoor picks are rated for outside |
| The lowest price to just try the habit | HigherDOSE blanket, $699 |
| The lowest price for a real cabin | Clearlight Sanctuary 1, $4,899, or the two-seat Peak Crown for $4,950 |
The four we'd buy
| Model | Price | Type | Spectrum | Power | EMF | Buy link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearlight Sanctuary 1 | $4,899 | 1-person cabin | Full spectrum | 120V, no electrician | ≤1.5mG at heater, near-zero at the seat | Read → |
| Sun Home Equinox 2 | $5,999 | 2-person indoor cabin | Full spectrum | 120V / 20A | 0.3–0.5mG, tested by Vitatech (named lab) | Read → |
| Peak Crown | $4,950 | 2-person cabin | Full spectrum | 120V, standard outlet (brand-stated) | Not published for this model | Check price → |
| HigherDOSE Sauna Blanket V4 | $699 | Infrared blanket | Far infrared | 120V | 2–5mG contact, ETL-certified | Read → |
Specs and EMF figures drawn from each manufacturer, current July 2026; prices move, so confirm at the retailer. "Named lab" means the brand cites an independent test house for its EMF figure.
Three of these say "lifetime" and none of them mean the same thing
Infrared is the corner of this market where lifetime warranties are advertised hardest, so we read all four policies rather than the badges. They do not say what the marketing implies, and they do not say the same thing as each other.
| What you get after you pay | Clearlight | Sun Home Saunas | Peak Saunas | HigherDOSE |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Warranty | Lifetime on parts indoors, but labor stops at 7 yearsThe cabin, controls, heaters and audio are lifetime for indoor residential use, which is the strongest parts cover of any brand here. The catch is underneath: labor on the cabin runs seven years, and an outdoor Sanctuary or any commercial install drops to five across the board. | Limited lifetime, capped at 7 years. Cold plunges get 1 yearTheir own document defines the lifetime: up to seven years, described as the expected useful lifetime of the cabinetry and heaters. Controls run three years and LED, glass and audio one. The cold plunges are not covered by any of it, they carry a one-year residential warranty. | Lifetime, but stated only in an FAQ answerOne sentence covering heaters, electronics and wood construction, with no exclusions, no cap and no warranty document anywhere on the site to read. Every other brand here publishes terms; this is the shortest warranty statement of the eleven and the only one with nothing behind it. | 1 year, home use onlyMaterials and workmanship under normal use. Cosmetic damage, misuse and any commercial use are excluded. |
| Returns / trial | 30 business days, 25% restocking feeNot a home trial. Return shipping is yours, the sauna has to go back as new with its original packaging and manuals, and custom orders cannot be returned at all. | 30 days, unused and unopened, 25% restocking feeYou pay shipping both ways on top, and their policy says that holds even if you bought under a free-shipping promotion. Cancelling inside one business day is the only free exit. | 30-day risk-free trial, you pay return shippingThe only brand here that calls it risk-free and publishes no restocking fee. Return shipping still comes off the refund. | 120 days on blankets and mats, but 30% on their saunasThe most generous term of the eleven and the widest internal split. Blankets, mats and light devices come back on a prepaid label with the money refunded; their Full Spectrum sauna carries a 30% restocking fee and the return shipping is yours. |
| Financing | Synchrony, 12 months interest-free or 9.99% over 24 to 36The only brand here publishing a full rate card rather than a badge. Subject to credit approval, with no application or annual fee. | Affirm, terms not publishedThe provider is named but no APR, term or monthly figure appears on any page we could read. | Affirm or Shop Pay, 3 to 24 monthsTheir worked example is about $331 a month on an $8,450 sauna over 24 months. No APR is published, so the cost of borrowing is not knowable from the page. | not statedNo provider or terms on the fine print, warranty, returns or cancellation pages. |
| Delivery | Liftgate to the curb, cost not publishedDelivered by appointment and taken off the truck for you. If a delivery fails, redelivery and storage fees are yours. No figure is published on the policy page. | Free, curbside onlyThe carrier takes the pallet off the truck and leaves it at the curb. No state exclusions are published. | Free in the continental USNo curbside or white-glove distinction is drawn either way. | Free over $50, exclusions applyA parcel-goods term rather than a freight one, which is the tell that this brand sells blankets rather than cabins. The exclusions are not listed. |
| Lead time | not statedNo dispatch or delivery window on the shipping and returns policy. | 7 business days if in stockMany sauna models are on backorder and no lead time is published for those; the site tells you to ask before buying. | Ships in 1 to 3 days, arrives in 5 to 10The fastest published window of any sauna brand here. | not statedNo dispatch or delivery window on any policy page. |
Scroll the table sideways to compare all 4 brands.
Read off each brand's own warranty, returns and shipping pages, re-checked August 19, 2026. "Not stated" means the brand does not publish it, which is worth knowing in itself. Policies change, so confirm anything you are relying on before you pay: Clearlight, Sun Home Saunas, Peak Saunas, HigherDOSE.
Clearlight's parts cover really is for life indoors, and the labor to fit them stops after seven years. Sun Home's "limited lifetime" is defined in its own document as up to seven years, "the expected useful lifetime of these components", and its cold plunges get one year rather than any of it. Peak states a lifetime warranty in a single FAQ answer and publishes no warranty document at all, which is not the same as the other two having read them carefully. HigherDOSE makes no lifetime claim and gives you 120 days to send a blanket back on a prepaid label, easily the most generous term here, though its own Full Spectrum sauna carries a 30% restocking fee.
Three of the four pay us nothing, so printing this costs us nothing. The fourth, Peak, does pay us, and it comes out of that paragraph worst of all: a lifetime claim with no document behind it. We left the sentence as written.
Of these four we earn a commission on one, the Peak Crown, and it is third of four on price and last on published EMF evidence. Clearlight, Sun Home and HigherDOSE pay us nothing and still finish above it, which is what the ranking is for. The other heat we earn on is traditional, not infrared, the Sweat Kingdom cabin below and the rest of the packages page.
Clearlight Sanctuary 1
Best overallPrice is for the unit and excludes delivery.
- Type
- 1-person cabin
- Spectrum
- Full spectrum
- Power
- 120V, no electrician
- EMF
- ≤1.5mG at heater, near-zero at the seat
Buy it if, you want the longest track record, a Jacuzzi-owned brand, near-zero EMF at the seat and a limited lifetime warranty.
Watch out, a one-person cabin is snug; step up to the Sanctuary 2/3 if you want company.
Sun Home Equinox 2
Best verified low-EMFPrice is for the unit and excludes delivery.
- Type
- 2-person indoor cabin
- Spectrum
- Full spectrum
- Power
- 120V / 20A
- EMF
- 0.3–0.5mG, tested by Vitatech (named lab)
Buy it if, EMF matters to you and you want a figure backed by a named independent lab rather than a brand claim.
Watch out, indoor model, for outdoors, the Luminar is the (pricier) sibling.
Peak Crown
Best value, two seatsPrice is for the unit and excludes delivery.
- Type
- 2-person cabin
- Spectrum
- Full spectrum
- Power
- 120V, standard outlet (brand-stated)
- EMF
- Not published for this model
Buy it if, you want two seats and full-spectrum infrared for about what the one-person cabins here cost, with a medical-grade red-light panel included rather than upsold.
Watch out, the Crown’s red light is a ceiling panel, and Peak’s own copy for its dearer cabins says a ceiling strip is the wrong place for it. No warranty document behind the lifetime claim, and no EMF figure published for this model at all.
HigherDOSE Sauna Blanket V4
Cheapest way inPrice is for the unit and excludes delivery.
- Type
- Infrared blanket
- Spectrum
- Far infrared
- Power
- 120V
- EMF
- 2–5mG contact, ETL-certified
Buy it if, you have no space or budget for a cabin and just want the infrared sweat, it rolls up and stores away.
Watch out, a blanket is a different, more claustrophobic experience than a cabin, and it’s in contact with your body.
Infrared sauna benefits, the short honest version
Here's the part most infrared listings gloss over. The strongest sauna evidence we have, a long Finnish cohort where frequent use tracked with a 63% lower rate of sudden cardiac death and roughly 40% lower all-cause mortality (Laukkanen et al., JAMA Internal Medicine, 2015), was measured in traditional, hot Finnish saunas, not infrared cabins. Infrared shares the same basic mechanism (mild heat stress, vasodilation, relaxation), so the directional case is reasonable, but it hasn't been studied to the same depth or duration, and claiming it "matches" that data would be going past the evidence. We cover the fuller evidence grading, including where the softer stress and sleep claims stand, in our sauna benefits guide, and the direct comparison in infrared vs traditional.
What I'd tell a client: if the cardiovascular numbers are why you're buying, that data belongs to the traditional Finnish protocol, buy infrared for the convenience, the lower running cost, and a habit you'll actually keep, not because you expect an identical heart-health result.
What they actually cost, to buy and to run
Buying in, our four picks span $699 for the HigherDOSE blanket to $5,999 for the Sun Home Equinox 2, with the two-seat Peak Crown at $4,950 and the Clearlight Sanctuary 1 at $4,899. That's the whole outlay beyond power, most 1–2 person infrared cabins plug into a standard 120V outlet, no electrician needed. Running one costs a fraction of a traditional sauna's bill, roughly $0.12–0.18 a session against $0.90–1.40 for a traditional heater, because the panels draw far less power than a room-sized rock heater. Treat the sticker price as an investment, not an expense: used several times a week for years, the per-session cost lands at a fraction of studio infrared-session pricing. Plug in your own electricity rate and usage in the cost-to-run calculator for a real number, not our average.
Who should buy a traditional sauna instead
If what you actually want is the ritual, real heat past 180°F, löyly steam off the rocks, the stronger cardiovascular research behind it, infrared won't scratch that itch no matter how good the panel. Budget for the 240V circuit and the higher running cost, and buy a real cabin. See our full best outdoor (cabin) saunas roundup and the head-to-head in infrared vs traditional sauna.

The Sweat Cabin (4 Person)
If the ritual matters more than convenience, this is the traditional, insulated cedar side of the trade.
from $6,495 · $6,495–$9,995 across 8 options, choose on the product page
Made to order, 5-week lead time stated by the retailer. Price is for the unit and excludes delivery.
Common questions
Is it a "real" sauna?
It's gentler and steam-free, comfortable and cheap to run, but not the 180°F+ experience of a traditional cabin. Pick by which you actually want.
Is the EMF dangerous?
Reputable units keep it low, but only trust a figure with a named lab behind it. Sun Home and Clearlight publish theirs.
Does it need special wiring?
Usually not, most 1–2 person cabins run on standard 120V. That's the running-cost win over traditional saunas.
Blanket or cabin, which should I buy?
A blanket like the HigherDOSE is the cheapest, smallest-footprint way to try infrared, and it touches your skin directly. A cabin is roomier, doesn't touch you, and reads closer to an actual sauna sit, but costs several times more and needs floor space. Try a blanket if you're unsure you'll stick with it; buy a cabin once you know you will.
Far infrared or full spectrum, what's the real difference?
Far infrared is the single band almost every heater uses, simple and effective. Full spectrum adds near- and mid-infrared for marketed extra skin or "cellular" benefits, evidence for those specific extras is thin, so don't pay a premium for it alone.
Sources & method
Specs, EMF figures and prices are taken directly from each brand's own product pages (Clearlight, Sun Home, Peak, HigherDOSE, Sunlighten), current July 2026, use the retailer links in each review above for live pricing. Where a brand cites a named independent EMF lab (Sun Home cites Vitatech; Clearlight publishes tested figures) we note it; where the figure is brand-stated only, we flag that. The cardiovascular and mortality figures are from the peer-reviewed Finnish cohort study cited above, measured in traditional saunas, not infrared, we say so rather than borrow the number. Running-cost figures are estimates from typical unit power and a US average electricity rate, not maker quotes, use the cost-to-run calculator with your own rate. Prices change often, always confirm at the retailer.